is part of the Global Exhibitions Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.


Chattanooga, TN, January 24, 2017—Floor Focus is pleased to announce the winners of its 2017 Young Professional Award, which, this year, focused on the retailer/contractor segment.

The award honors professionals, under the age of 40, who have proven themselves to be true leaders and help drive the industry forward.

Candidates must be nominated, and this year’s winners were announced at a cocktail event at Surfaces.

Judges for the 2017 competition were Ralph Boe, president of ArrowStar and past president of Beaulieu Group, and Paul Friederichsen, flooring industry marketing consultant, creative director and marketing strategist.

This year’s winners are as follows:

Justin Atcheson, president of Builders Floor Covering and Tile;

Steavie Cain, managing principal of Quality Service Floor Covering;

David DeGol Jr., division manager of DeGol Carpet;

Michelle Gibson, store manager of Lima Carpet Corporation;

Katie Krause, senior interior designer at H.J. Martin and Son;

Garrett Ulfig of Mastercraft Flooring;

Sage Parrish of Quality Floor Coverings;

Grant Petruzzelli, director of sales and marketing at Universal Metro;

Jared Satler, owner of Dick’s Carpet One & Auburn Carpet One; and

David Webb, store manager at Dalton Carpet One. 

>> See article on

Program Overview:
The purpose of this Young Professional award is to promote and recognize excellence among the rising career-minded professionals in the floorcovering industry under 40 years old working in the dealer segment. Winners of this contest will be announced at this year’s TISE (Surfaces) show in Las Vegas in January and will be featured in the February 2017 issue of Floor Focus magazine. Entries will be judged by a panel of independent judges.

Nominee Qualifications:
Nominees must be currently employed in the floorcovering dealer segment including retailers, distributors and commercial contractors. All nominees must have been born after December 31, 1977.

Sponsorship Policy:
Sponsors may submit more than one nominee. Separate entry forms must be submitted for each nominee.

Entry Policy:
The nominee entry form must be received by Floor Focus by December 31, 2016 to be considered eligible. Entry forms must be filled out in full and all entries must include a color, high resolution head shot of the nominee. Forms should be emailed to or mailed to Floor Focus, PO Box 3399, Chattanooga, TN 37404.

Selection of winners will be the sole responsibility of the judges. Recognition will be based only on the answers provided on the entry forms. All information gathered is for the sole use of this competition. We will not share your information with anyone.
Award Event:
Finalists of the Young Leaders Award will receive complimentary registration to attend The International Surface Event 2018. Plus, all entries, regardless of placement, should plan to attend the Emerging Professionals Happy Hour at TISE 2017 to celebrate with their fellow industry Emerging Professionals, sponsored by Floor Focus/Floor Daily. Read more about the Happy Hour, advance registration is required.

Sponsored by: